New Discoveries

17 Oct

So things have been extremely crazy and blogging has not been a priority but today I’m taking the time to get some things off my chest.

Work has been hectic and for the past few months I have discovered that; I hate doing data bases. It is definitely a strong hatred and I cannot deal! Thing is, I know that I’m an intern and I have to do a lot of jobs that no one really wants to do but give me anything, and I repeat, ANYTHING, but data bases.

For those of you who don’t understand the procedure of a data base, I shall explain. Basically you collect information on a specific topic, such as Bakeries, and usually you get a region, let’s say for example, South Africa. Then you research every Bakery you can find on the internet and collect there contact details. Sometimes, all they have is a number, with no location, no email, no address and that’s where it gets a bit tricky. The point of a data base is to send information about your company in mass amounts to “potential clients”, (that’s why you look for them on the internet) to make a bridge in-between that gap of the unknown to the known. Keep in mind, I work for a media company. Anyway, if they do not have any information but a phone number, you need to call them.

This is where I will not sugar coat the situation…

People are rude on the phone : |

It is what it is.

You get the few modest folks that are such a pleasant to talk to, and then you get the fill on “I don’t want to talk to you” type of people.

But the experience humbles you and makes you a better person. You become stronger and able to handle any situation with a positive attitude and most people appreciate that.

So remember : Keep a positive attitude and no one can bring you down

Leave a comment